And the journey begins…

Hello–I mean, ¡Hola!

My name is Erika, and I am here to tell you about my travel adventures to Spain, London, other European countries and beyond! I am eager to share with you everything I encounter along the way. Here is a little bit about me:

I grew up in an American home that never traveled. By 18, I still had never been outside of a 500 mile radius from my home. I’ve always had a desire to see the world, so I am taking advantage of every opportunity I get to travel. 

I am a Spanish major, pursuing my Bachelors Degree in Adolescent Education. I hope to teach middle school and/or elementary level Spanish once I graduate from my university, SUNY Geneseo. 

In my spare time, I enjoy photography, running, listening to music, reading, cooking/baking and singing. I rarely watch television, and I would much rather spend my time getting things done or browsing Pinterest. I am an avid coffee lover and I love trying new things–except skydiving/bungee jumping/anything with heights. No, thank you!

I love teaching and I feel a strong sense of belonging and accomplishment when I am working with young children and preteens. I truly feel like that is where I belong someday. 

So that is me, in a nutshell. Now about my travels…I decided to go to Spain because I love European life and what it offers. I also wanted to visit other countries while I am there, since flights within Europe are at a very good rate. I decided to go to Madrid, Spain for a couple of reasons:

1. I am graduating in May, and this program got me back in time to walk with my class. 

2. The price was great! (Well….as great as it could be lol)

3. There is a rich history associated with Madrid. 

4. It’s right in the heart of Spain. 

5. I would be living with a host family. 

I depart from the United States on December 29th, from New York City to Dublin Ireland. I will be spending one day there and then going to London via ferry and train to spend the next week. While I am there, I will stay at a hostel, which is basically a cheap form of lodging for travelers like myself. After that, my program in Madrid begins on Jan. 8th of 2014. But we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. 

So that is all I have to say for now, but I hope you come back to visit and hear about all my my adventures–I sure look forward to sharing them with you!

~Hasta luego! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “And the journey begins…

Leave a Reply

